President Anote Tong of Kiribati and Dr. Modadugu. V. Gupta of India were selected as winners of the Sunhak Peace Prize, which is given to individuals who have significantly contributed toward the peace and well-being of future generations.

The Award ceremony was held today at the Grand Intercontinental Hotel in Seoul.

One of the winners, President Anote Tong was recognized for his work in raising awareness on the severity of climate change to the international community as President of Kiribati, an Oceania island nation vulnerable to the climate crisis.

The joint Winner, Dr. Gupta. a fishery scientist of India was recognized for his work in developing aqua farming technology as an alternative for food crisis, and for widely disseminating the new technology in deprived areas.

Each of The winners was awarded a prize of five hundred million won and a medal.